On forgiveness

In the book of Matthew we are told how often to forgive: (Matthew 18: 21-22)

21 ¶ Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me,  and forgive him? till seven times?

22 Jesus saith unto him, say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times  seven.

 And then in the Doctrine and Covenants, Jesus is even more specific.

D&C 64:10 –  I, the Lord, will forgive whom will forgive, but of you it is required to forgive all men.

 

I personally know that the last scripture is for me. In the time that I have been in recovery, Jesus has made it known to me that I “must” forgive everyone!! Regardless or what they have done to me, or regardless of if they want to be forgiven. I am to forgive them.

I have also come to the conclusion that forgiving others has nothing to do with them. It is all about me.

Jesus wants me to forgive others because forgiving others helps keeps resentment out of my spirit. It helps keep me free from anger, it helps keep my spirit clean and happy.

It is just another lesson, that the commandments (rules, whatever) that Heavenly Father and my Savior give to me are for my good. They are to help me learn the lessons that I need to learn to return to Heavenly Father. They are not meant to limit my fun or to take away from me in any way!!

 

One thought on “On forgiveness

Leave a Reply

