Saturday afternoon session of General Conference

NOTE: This post is just a quick cap of what this session was about. My short simple notes. Hopefully after the talks are published I will do a more extensive blog about what I truly learn from studying each. For now this is mostly about how I “feel” during the talks.
So, I was very excited to watch this session too! It is the 187th Annual General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. President Henry B. Eyring conducted this session.

I had the privilege of raising my hand in the affirmative to sustain Thomas S. Monson as the President of this church, and also to sustain the other 14 apostles. I do believe and sustain them to be true apostles just as in the days that Jesus walked the earth!!

There was a new Relief Society presidency put in place and the 1st & 2nd counselors in the primary presidency were changed. There were also changes in the general authorities.

I absolutely loved the choir that performed this session. I dearly loved the medley of “I am a Child of God and How Will They Know”!!

Elder Robert D Hales talked to us about what a disciple truly is. He spoke of how the characteristics of Christ should be woven into our very being. For us not to have selective obedience but to work at having all of the attributes of the Savior. Begin with faith, then add virtue then add knowledge, then add temperance, patience and then move to charity (the pure love of Christ). So much good info for me. I will be grateful to study this talk for fully than just my note taking..

Up next was the magnificent Elder Jeffrey R. Holland. He always speaks to my heart. He did again today. He took a line from “There Is Sunshine In My Soul” and gave a wonderfully “melodious” talk. He talked about borrowing hope from others while we are unable to find our own. Then he moved quickly into the beauty of “It is by devine design that all voices in God’s choir are not the same” He told us to be weary of “fictitious stereotypes” that cause us to lose our own voice. He stressed to my heart that “I” am important to the whole. That I am not a mistake!! He told me to stay permanently and faithfully in the choir. He said that there is room in God’s choir for everyone that wants to be there. He stated that God says “Come as  you are, but don’t plan on staying as you are”!! I love being reminded that God loves me just as I am, but is more than willing to help me become the person that I truly can be with His help!

The next up was Gary B. Sabin. He started out with a GPS metaphor and talking about recalculating the route when necessary, he talked about being “all in” and about “standing on the inside” He said we need to let go of the world so that we can hang on to eternity. He gave hope to my soul too. That I am not bad, that Christ gave us a way to “recalculate our route” and make adjustments as needed.

Next was Valeri V. Cordon. He talked about language loss and how not to lose the language of the spirit in our homes.

Elder Neil L. Anderson talked next. He talked about overcoming the world. I listened hard, this is something that I know I have to work diligently at. It does not come easily for me. He said that it is possible to overcome the world, this gives me hope!! He said that we need to work at subduing the natural man. I know this as truth. He gave practical instructions on ways to overcome the world. I am looking forward to studying the truths of this talk later also.

Last was M. Russell Ballard, who started off making me laugh out loud!! He said his assignment was to talk and ours was to listen and he hoped to finish before we did. I had trouble taking notes I was so tickled. I am having trouble typing this now because I am laughing again, it was so cute. Then he went on and gave lots of good information about goals and plans. He whittled it down to “Return & Receive” because simpler is better in goals. He suggested many things including prayerfully studying “The Living Christ” document to expand my understanding of my Savior. He closed with “They love us perfectly” which love I truly feel from those here at Gen Conf.

The closing prayer was by Hugo Montoya. He is awesome, he attended our Stake conference a couple of years ago with Elder Bednar.

I hope the rest of your Saturday is exceptional!!

(((HUGS)))

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

