The Story of Me week 7

02-february-2

I didn’t have a lot of friends as a child. We moved around a lot, so I was not able to cultivate many long friendships.

We moved to Arkansas when I was 14, and I have mostly been around Fort Smith and Van Buren since that time. I do still have pretty regular contact with one of the girls that I went to Seminary with back when I was 14. It is nice to be able to say that I have had a friend that long. She is always the friend I tag on Facebook as the the “friend” that I have known longest in real life (other than family of course).

My best friend is my husband. We have been married for over 31 years. We have had our share of problems, and there was a few years that we were separated and I did not want to be married to him anymore. But, after I got clean and worked a few steps, I got rid of all of the anger I had toward him and was able to see the love again. We have had a really great last 10 years of married life. He knows me better than probably anyone. I know him pretty well too. One of the best things about our relationship now versus our relationship before I worked steps is that I feel comfortable telling him anything. Before the discomfort was not with ‘him’, it was my own insecurity and not believing I was worth loving. It is really nice to be able to tell him all my stuff and trust that he still loves me!!

I have a really good friend that I have known for about 10 years now. I trust her with all of my stuff. I can tell her anything and she will not judge me. She helps me find my way to my solutions. We did not start out as friends, this relationship has taken lots of work, but it sure has been worth it. I sure do love my Brandi!! I hope to always be friends with her!

I am friends with my remaining blood sister. We get along and we talk. There is 15 years difference in our ages and when our mom died I stepped into the parental role. I made many mistakes in our relationship over the years. I have done a lot better in the last 10 since I worked steps and have been able to mostly stop trying to be her mom and tell her what to do and how to live her life. I really enjoy just being her sister. We just don’t enjoy the same things too much. Also we are not at the same places in our lives and that is ok.

I was pretty good friends as one time with my sister Debbie. We were only 2 years apart in age. Once we grew up and mostly quit fighting, we did a lot together. Our son’s were born 10 days apart and they grew up together. There were many, many Friday and Saturday nights that we spent hours at her house all of us playing cards or watching TV or just chatting. That all changed not long after Mom died. A lot of things in our life changed within a few years of Mom dying. But I will always treasure those memories and I will also treasure the talks that her and I had in the past 8 years or so!

I am  still practicing being a good friend and I hope to continue making more friends for many years to come.

(((HUGS)))

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

