Honesty

The definition of honesty is: fairness and straightforwardness of conduct and adherence to the facts. It implies a refusal to lie, steal or deceive in any way.

I have been practicing to learn how to be honest since September of 2006. Some days it is harder than other days. Some parts of it are harder than others on some days.

I have learned that God wants me to be honest and He wants me to have integrity.

Proverbs 12:22 Lying lips are abomination to the Lord: but they that deal truly are his delight.

President Thomas S. Monson in his 2014 General Conference words said “May we be people of honesty and integrity, trying to do the right thing at all times and in all circumstances.”

tsm-honesty

 

The 13th Article of Faith of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints states: “We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.” I have heard this all of my life and even had all 13 Articles of Faith memorized at one point as a child, but being honest didn’t become important to me until late 2006 when I became a member of a 12 step program and learned that being honest is part of how I need to live to stay clean. Today it’s isn’t as much about having to be honest to stay clean, but I like the person I am today and part of that is being honest. I have learned that I like being honest and having integrity. Therefore, today I work diligently to be honest in all that I do and say.

(((HUGS)))

 

Leave a Reply

