Forgiveness

The Healing Ointment of Forgiveness, is a talk by Elder Kevin R. Duncan of the Seventy.

Forgiveness is a glorious, healing principle. We do not need to be a victim twice. We can forgive.

I love the principle of forgiveness! I know from experience that my forgiving others is one of the best things that I can do for myself!

Elder Duncan talks about the fact that we are all human and because of that we will all make mistakes. Also, we will all at some point be the victim of other’s actions.

He then gave us a vision of hope:

Gratefully, God, in His love and mercy for His children, has prepared a way to help us navigate these sometimes turbulent experiences of life. He has provided an escape for all who fall victim to the misdeeds of others. He has taught us that we can forgive! Even though we may be a victim once, we need not be a victim twice by carrying the burden of hate, bitterness, pain,resentment, or even revenge. We can forgive, and we can be free!

He then tells the parable of the splinter (lol) and then says:

I am convinced that most of us want to forgive, but we find it very hard to do.When we have experienced an injustice, we may be quick to say, “That person did wrong. They deserve punishment. Where is the justice?” We mistakenly think that if we forgive, somehow justice will not be served and punishments will be avoided.

This simply is not the case. God will mete out a punishment that is fair, for mercy cannot rob justice (see Alma 42:25). God lovingly assures you and me:“Leave judgment alone with me, for it is mine and I will repay. [But let] peace be with you” (D&C 82:23). The Book of Mormon prophet Jacob also promised that God “will console you in your afflictions, and he will plead your cause, and send down justice upon those who seek your destruction” (Jacob 3:1).

He gives a very helpful suggestion:

One key to forgiving others is to try to see them as God sees them. At times,God may part the curtain and bless us with the gift to see into the heart, soul,and spirit of another person who has offended us. This insight may even lead to an overwhelming love for that person.

Elder Duncan, talks about Saul who later becomes Paul. He gives wonderful examples and scriptures to help us know that we need to forgive.

The second to last paragraph in his talk is probably my favorite:

Forgiveness is the very reason God sent His Son, so let us rejoice in His offering to heal us all. The Savior’s Atonement is not just for those who need to repent; it is also for those who need to forgive. If you are having trouble forgiving another person or even yourself, ask God to help you. Forgiveness is a glorious, healing principle. We do not need to be a victim twice. We can forgive. 

It is my favorite, because I have utilized this in my life! I have needed forgiveness countless times and I have also needed help in learning to forgive others. That is a lesson that I  learned a few years ago. Today, because of some of my life lessons that I have already been through, am quick to forgive. I believe that Heavenly Father requires me to forgive (D&C 64:10).

Elder Duncan then closes with a testimony of God’s love:

I witness of God’s enduring love and patience for all of His children and of His desire that we love one another as He loves us (see John 15:9, 12). As we do so, we will break through the darkness of this world into the glory and majesty of His kingdom in heaven. We will be free. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

I pray that you will read the entire talk for yourself and if you didn’t before, you will begin applying the Atonement of our Savior in you life by forgiving others!!

(((HUGS)))

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Scripture Study, Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

