Mourning

My sister died this past Tuesday.  She was the sister I grew up with. She was 2 years younger than me. I do not remember life without her.

deb

The visitation was last night and the funeral was today. For me, those are the worst part of someone I love dying.  I don’t like being around crowds on my best day, much less at a time like this.  Plus, I know how to mourn. My mom died 20 years ago. I have been through this before and worked enough steps on it to know that I am going to get through this. I know that I don’t have to go through it alone! I have God, a wonderful family (blood and the family that is not blood), I have my NA family, I have my church family and I also have others friends that I know I can count on through this.

I know that I am going to cry. I know that there are going to be times when I forget for a bit that she is gone and then will be reminded and will be horribly sad all over again. I know that this first year is going to be full of painful firsts. And, I also know that like a muscle, the longer I feel the feelings and don’t push, drink, drug or alter them in any way, that I get better at dealing with them.

I also know that I will see her again. I know that she is with our Mom who we have missed horribly.

Elder Russell M. Nelson, in his talk Doors of Death stated:

Irrespective of age, we mourn for those loved and lost. Mourning is one of the deepest expressions of pure love. It is a natural response in complete accord with divine commandment: “Thou shalt live together in love, insomuch that thou shalt weep for the loss of them that die.” (D&C 42:45.)

Moreover, we can’t fully appreciate joyful reunions later without tearful separations now. The only way to take sorrow out of death is to take love out of life.

All of these things combined, make me sure that I will survive this death. Just like I survived my Mom’s so many years ago.

I hope that all of you have a wonderful week.

and remember:

What e’er thou art, act well thy part!!

 

 

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

