Keep on trying!!

I’ve  not been very good at blogging the past few months.  I will attempt to do better now that this semester is over. (No I’m not in school, but my grown daughter is and I babysit her 3 children)

April 4th & 5th was The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints General Conference. A wonderful uplifting weekend for me. I love listening to prophets and apostles teach me more about my Savior!!!

Elder Dale G. Renlund’s talk was titled “Latter-Day Saints Keep on Trying“.  Wonderful talk!! You should click on the link and read the whole talk.

He began with a quote from Nelson Mandela:  “I’m no saint—that is, unless you think a saint is a sinner who keeps on trying.”

He quoted President Thomas S. Monson:  “One of God’s greatest gifts to us is the joy of trying again, for no failure ever need be final.” 

And he added this to it: “Even if we’ve been a conscious, deliberate sinner or have repeatedly faced failure and disappointment, the moment we decide to try again, the Atonement of Christ can help us”

Further, he said “ We must not only be tolerant while others work on their individual illnesses; we must also be kind, patient, supportive, and understanding. As God encourages us to keep on trying, He expects us to also allow others the space to do the same, at their own pace. The Atonement will come into our lives in even greater measure. We will then recognize that regardless of perceived differences, all of us are in need of the same infinite Atonement.”

All of these were points that I needed to study and that I need to try to remember more consistently in my life today.

Have a wonderful day!!

(((HUGS))) to all of you!!

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Scripture Study, Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

