About Personal Responsibility

The talk I read this morning is “Free Forever, to Act for Themselves” by Elder D. Todd Christofferson.

Elder Christofferson_highlight

If you know me, you know that I am all about personal responsibility.The reason for that is, I use to allow/make others make all of my decisions, and therefore I could blame them when my life went wrong. A few years ago, I got into a program where I learned about the amazingly huge amount of freedom that comes from taking personal responsibility for my actions!! When I take responsibility for my decisions and actions, even if things don’t turn out like I thought they should, or wanted them to, I still have freedom!

Elder Christofferson says:

It is God’s will that we be free men and women enabled to rise to our full potential both temporally and spiritually.

But God intends that His children should act according to the moral agency He has given them, “that every man may be accountable for his own sins in the day of judgment.”2 It is His plan and His will that we have the principal decision-making role in our own life’s drama.

So God does not save us “just as we are,” first, because “just as we are” we are unclean, and “no unclean thing can dwell … in his presence; for, in the language of Adam, Man of Holiness is his name, and the name of his Only Begotten is the Son of Man [of Holiness].”4 And second, God will not act to make us something we do not choose by our actions to become. Truly He loves us, and because He loves us, He neither compels nor abandons us. Rather He helps and guides us. Indeed, the real manifestation of God’s love is His commandments.

And I think this might be my favorite part:

Christ died not to save indiscriminately but to offer repentance. We rely “wholly upon the merits of him who is mighty to save”19 in the process of repentance, but acting to repent is a self-willed change. So by making repentance a condition for receiving the gift of grace, God enables us to retain responsibility for ourselves. Repentance respects and sustains our moral agency: “And thus mercy can satisfy the demands of justice, and encircles them in the arms of safety, while he that exercises no faith unto repentance is exposed to the whole law of the demands of justice; therefore only unto him that has faith unto repentance is brought about the great and eternal plan of redemption.”20

I personally have used repentance to make my life so much better than I ever thought it could be. I continue to use the Atonement in my life daily!

And some may not like it, but “I” love this:

A God who makes no demands is the functional equivalent of a God who does not exist.

A world without God, the living God who establishes moral laws to govern and perfect His children, is also a world without ultimate truth or justice. It is a world where moral relativism reigns supreme.

I believe that God remains active in the lives of those that seek Him out. I love the relationship that I have with Heavenly Father today!!

In matters both temporal and spiritual, the opportunity to assume personal responsibility is a God-given gift without which we cannot realize our full potential as daughters and sons of God. Personal accountability becomes both a right and a duty that we must constantly defend; it has been under assault since before the Creation. We must defend accountability against persons and programs that would (sometimes with the best of intentions) make us dependent. And we must defend it against our own inclinations to avoid the work that is required to cultivate talents, abilities, and Christlike character.

I work daily to keep this relationship as good as it can be!

This is a great talk! You should go read or listen to it all!!

meme-christofferson-become-192x192

I hope that you all have a Magnificent Monday!!  (((HUGS)))

 

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Scripture Study, Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

