I don’t have to be perfect

I just read a great talk by Elder Gerrit W. Gong “Becoming Perfect in Christ” You should go read it too.

I really enjoyed the talk and I loved this quote:

Understanding the Savior’s freely given atoning love can free us from self-imposed, incorrect, and unrealistic expectations of what perfection is. Such understanding allows us to let go of fears that we are imperfect—fears that we make mistakes, fears that we are not good enough, fears that we are a failure compared to others, fears that we are not doing enough to merit His love.

This quote means a lot to me also, because I have always had that little voice that told me “you are not good enough” and “people just don’t like you”

The word perfection, however, is sometimes misunderstood to mean never making a mistake. Perhaps you or someone you know is trying hard to be perfect in this way. Because such perfection always seems out of reach, even our best efforts can leave us anxious, discouraged, or exhausted. We unsuccessfully try to control our circumstances and the people around us. We fret over weaknesses and mistakes. In fact, the harder we try, the further we may feel from the perfection we seek.

Today I know that as long as I do my best, and take advantage of Jesus Atonement, then I don’t have to be “good enough” because Heavenly Father and Jesus love me just as I am. This also helps me be ok with the people that don’t necessarily like me. I use to work very had for everyone to like me, to make me “feel” good enough. Today, not so much!

the-savior-jesus-christ-557289-gallery

If you have any of these feelings, please take advantage of Heavenly Father and our Savior’s love!! They love me, you and each of us individually!! Develop your own relationship with them and start enjoying life!

(((HUGS))) I hope all of you have a Terrific Thursday!!!

soithasbeenJRH

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

