My Spiritual Principles

I was thinking this morning about the spiritual principles that I do my best to practice daily. I decided that I wanted to share them with you! So here is the list of principles:

Honesty, Open-mindedness, Willingness, Humility, Acceptance, Hope, Faith, Trust, Surrender, Commitment, Courage, Self-honesty, Perseverance, Patience, Compassion, Forgiveness, Self-discipline, Unconditional Love, Selflessness, Steadfastness, Service, Sharing & Caring, Unity, Spiritual Awareness, Prudence, Tolerance, Integrity

These principles are in no particular order, but when I was learning them in my 12 step journey, I did learn about honesty first. When I first started this journey, honesty was a very hard thing to practice. I remember lying just to lie and not really knowing why I had done it. I also remember wondering when I would be able to stop. I have stopped. I don’t just randomly lie for no reason today! Today my integrity is very important to me! I go out of my way to make sure that I am honest. I work at being honest with myself (first, because I was the one that I use to lie to the most) and then I can be honest with you also.

My favorite principle is “acceptance”

:  to receive willingly <accept a gift>
:  to be able or designed to take or hold (something applied or added) <a surface that will not accept ink>
2:  to give admittance or approval to <accept her as one of the group>
:  to endure without protest or reaction <accept poor living conditions>
:  to regard as proper, normal, or inevitable <the idea is widely accepted>
:  to recognize as true :  believe <refused to accept the explanation>
:  to make a favorable response to <accept an offer>
:  to agree to undertake (a responsibility) <accept a job>
:  to assume an obligation to pay; also:  to take in payment<we don’t accept personal checks>
:  to receive (a legislative report) officially
the definition among those that I use for acceptance is #3. When I utilize acceptance in my life: accept each thing and person just as it is at this moment, then I have less craziness in my head and I am just happier!!
Spiritual awareness has been a very important one for me also. I have learned that the most important relationship that I have is my relationship with my Higher Power (yes God). I use to believe that it was a relationship that was going to “save” or “complete” me, but i thought that it was going to be a relationship with a man or a woman, but it is my relationship with God!! Once I learned that, things really began to change in my life!
(((HUGS))) Hope every one has a Fantastic Friday and a Blessed weekend!!!
Remember: What e’er thou art, play well thy part!!

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

