Trust in the Lord

I haven’t posted in a bit, been busy and just didn’t take time to think of something I wanted to blog about.

Until I was reading today’s Book Of Mormon Translation Challenge email and he linked to this talk by Elder Richard G. Scott:

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/1995/10/trust-in-the-lord?lang=eng

I have learned in the past few years that “I” do better mentally when I remember that God has a plan; that I don’t get to know the details of the plan; I just get to Trust that there is a plan!  When I accept those things and trust in those things I try less to control the outcome of what is going on in my and other’s lives.

“To exercise faith is to trust that the Lord knows what He is doing with you and that He can accomplish it for your eternal good even though you cannot understand how He can possibly do it. We are like infants in our understanding of eternal matters and their impact on us here in mortality. Yet at times we act as if we knew it all. When you pass through trials for His purposes, as you trust Him, exercise faith in Him, He will help you. That support will generally come step by step, a portion at a time. While you are passing through each phase, the pain and difficulty that comes from being enlarged will continue. If all matters were immediately resolved at your first petition, you could not grow. Your Father in Heaven and His Beloved Son love you perfectly. They would not require you to experience a moment more of difficulty than is absolutely needed for your personal benefit or for that of those you love.”

I have also, in the last few years stopped making such bad decisions so that most of the stuff in my life that I don’t like, is just life stuff. It is not the consequences of my bad decisions. It is the stuff that I get to learn how to deal with (hopefully in the way that Heavenly Father wants me to deal with it) in this mortal life.

I really enjoyed the talked, and needed the reminder. You see, “I’m not a slow learner, I am a fast forgetter” (yes I stole that) and I sometimes need to be gently (or sometimes not so gently) reminded of the things that pertain to what is going on in my life today.

 

Starting today and until Sunday, Cupcake has her monthly drill for the Army Reserve, so I get to spend the days with Little Miss and Little Mister alone.  That is not near as bad physically as it use to be because I am physically feeling so much better!! We have done really well this a.m. and they are now taking their naps.

(((HUGS)))  Here’s hoping you have a wonderful Thursday!!

Remember:  “Be the best you that you can be”!!

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

