Obedience Brings Blessings

My Wednesday #GCweek2014  General Conference talk that I read today is President Thomas S. Monson’s “Obedience Brings Blessings” from the April 2013 Conference.

I chose this talk today because it was the first time that I had actually watched General Conference. April 2013 General Conference took place less than a month after I became active after over a decade of inactivity. It was the first time that I went to a Stake Center and watched Conference. It was also the first time I had seen or heard President Monson speak.  It was absolutely lovely to me!!!  I truly enjoy listening to our Prophet speak!

During that talk I not only heard inspired instruction that I desperately needed to hear. But I saw a glimpse into a man who does his best daily to live by his beliefs. I needed to see/hear that then as I was trying desperately to come back to the religious beliefs that I knew God was guiding me back to, but I was so very scared that I was not worthy of attending.

I read this talk again today. The words felt different today. They resonated of truth, yes, they felt that way last year too. But today, it was more of a confirmation of the feelings that I have experienced over the past year.

My journey of obedience has been slow. For years I was on a very wrong path in my life. Seven and a half years ago that changed and for those seven and a half years I have been consciously trying to obey Heavenly Father!

In the past 7 years I have truly experienced the blessings that come from obedience. I can not put into words how many blessings Heavenly Father has given to me in that time!!

I truly believe that Heavenly Father loves me and you!! I believe that Jesus Christ, his son, loves us too! I believe that Jesus

 “faced with the agony of Gethsemane, where He endured such pain that “his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground,” He exemplified the obedient Son by saying, “Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.

And I truly believe that when I obey God’s laws/statutes that then He is able to give me the blessings that go with those laws. And I believe that He wants to give me those blessings!!

This talk is beautiful!!! Go read it for yourself. Hear/read the words of a Prophet, inspired by Heavenly Father to give us this message!!  Here

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

