The Hope of God’s Light

My Tuesday #GCweek2014 Talk is a talk from April 2013 Conference by  PRESIDENT DIETER F. UCHTDORF titled “The Hope of God’s Light” (quotes from this talk will be italicized)

He tells about a painting he has in his office:

I have a cherished painting in my office that is titled Entrance to Enlightenment. It was created by a friend of mine, the Danish artist Johan Benthin, who was the first stake president in Copenhagen, Denmark.”  which  “shows a dark room with an open door from which light is shining.”

Then he talks about a girl named “Jane”, who was abused all of her childhood. Through all of her trials she learns much and decides:  that healing comes when we move away from the darkness and walk toward the hope of a brighter light. It was in the practical application of faith, hope, and charity that she not only transformed her own life but forever blessed the lives of many, many others.

As with Elder Holland’s talk yesterday, I can’t say it any where near as good as Pres Uchtdorf can. Go read his talk for yourself. I will show you the last paragraph which is wonderful.

As you walk toward the hope of God’s light, you will discover the compassion, love, and goodness of a loving Heavenly Father, “in [whom there] is no darkness at all.” Of this I testify in the sacred name of Jesus Christ, amen.

There is a link to the talk at the beginning of this blog, or you can just click here.

Hope you have a Terrific Tuesday!!

(((HUGS)))

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

