“Like A Broken Vessel”

So, my choice for today’s #GCweek2014 talk that I read,  is Jeffrey R. Holland’s “Like A Broken Vessel” from October 2013 General Conference.

Everything from that talk will be italicized unless otherwise stated.

In striving for some peace and understanding in these difficult matters, it is crucial to remember that we are living—and chose to live—in a fallen world where for divine purposes our pursuit of godliness will be tested and tried again and again. Of greatest assurance in God’s plan is that a Savior was promised, a Redeemer, who through our faith in Him would lift us triumphantly over those tests and trials, even though the cost to do so would be unfathomable for both the Father who sent Him and the Son who came. It is only an appreciation of this divine love that will make our own lesser suffering first bearable, then understandable, and finally redemptive.

I have to remember that “I” and “you” are all human!! My head wants me to forget that humans are in a state of learning, not yet learned!  And I believe that we are here to learn lessons, each of us individual lessons that we “chose”. I know some people do not want to accept that they would have chosen to come to this earth and bear the things that they feel are too much to bear. But I do believe that I chose to come to earth to learn lessons that will help me on my eternal journey!!

So how do you best respond when mental or emotional challenges confront you or those you love? Above all, never lose faith in your Father in Heaven, who loves you more than you can comprehend. As President Monson said to the Relief Society sisters so movingly last Saturday evening: “That love never changes. … It is there for you when you are sad or happy, discouraged or hopeful. God’s love is there for you whether or not you feel you deserve [it]. It is simply always there.”  Never, ever doubt that, and never harden your heart. Faithfully pursue the time-tested devotional practices that bring the Spirit of the Lord into your life. Seek the counsel of those who hold keys for your spiritual well-being. Ask for and cherish priesthood blessings. Take the sacrament every week, and hold fast to the perfecting promises of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. Believe in miracles. I have seen so many of them come when every other indication would say that hope was lost. Hope is never lost. If those miracles do not come soon or fully or seemingly at all, remember the Savior’s own anguished example: if the bitter cup does not pass, drink it and be strong, trusting in happier days ahead. 

I just can’t say it any better than he does!!  Go and read his entire talk. I made it easy. There is a link at the beginning of this blog, or you can just go here. It is well worth your time!!

 

(((HUGS)))  I hope you are having a Magnificent Monday and not letting yourself get caught up in the world’s “Monday Negativity”!!

What e’er thou art, act well thy part!!

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

