Repentance works for me!!

In Matthew 3:1-2. John The Baptist taught repentance.

In Luke 13, Jesus preached repentance. In verses 3 and 5 He says “I tell you, Nay; but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.

In 2 Corinthians Chapter 7 Paul admonishes in verse 10 that “Godly sorrow worketh repentance to salvation not to be repented of, but the sorrow of the world worketh death.

There are lots of references to repentance in the Book of Mormon and the Doctrine and Covenants. These are the only 3 that I found in the New Testament by searching for “repent” in my app.

I personally know of the joy of repentance!!

I spent a lot of my life living in Patty’s will. What it got me was miserable! Today, I am doing my best to learn to live in God’s will and what that gives me is happiness and satisfaction!! Yes, I do get satisfaction out of doing the right thing, just because it is the right thing. Not always, mind you, but a lot of the time.

I have discovered that “I” do not have a clue what “I” need. I sometimes know what I may think that I want, but “never” do I know what I need!! But, on the other hand, God always know what is in the best interest for me and everyone concerned!!

Because I spent so much time living in my own will. I have had a whole lot of things to repent for. I started that process out by working the 12 steps from the 12 Step program that I am a member of. That really helped me! In the Steps, I not only learned how to accept personal responsibility, get a relationship with my Higher Power, Heavenly Father, make amends to people that I had harmed, but I learned a new way to live!

I also began the repentance process with Heavenly Father for my wrong doing.  Part of what I believe is true repentance, is to forsake the sin. So part of this journey has been to stop acting in those ways.

I have realized in major ways in the past 7 years that “wickedness never was happiness”, and that obeying God’s commandment’s, for me, truly is the way to happiness.  No, I am not perfect! And, yes I still have a lot of repenting, growing and changing to do. But, today, I can say that I am truly happy today! And have been for quite a while now.

Remember: What e’er thou art, act well thy part!! (I just love that quote! Can you tell?)

(((HUGS)))

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Repentance works for me!!

  1. Norma Ness says:

    You are an amazing woman, Patty. You have such an understanding of the Atonement and what it can mean for your happiness. Keep up the good work. You are also an incredible writer.

  2. pattypooh67 says:

    Awww, thanks so much Norma!!

Leave a Reply

