Getting back up

I just read a wonderful talk by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, titled “You Can Do it Now”  (all quotes from that talk will be in italics unless otherwise stated)

I believe the talk was made originally to the male members of the church, but it speaks to me! I love the Brethren and their beautiful inspired words to us!

As long as we are willing to rise up again and continue on the path, … we can learn something from failure and become better and happier.

This is so my life some days. I say “practice” a lot in talking about how I try to live my life. The reason for that is I understand that I am not perfect yet, and that I mess up (a lot some days). But when I get over messing up and continue “practicing” this new way of life that I am trying to learn to live. I’m ok.

Every person, young and old, has had his own personal experience with falling. Falling is what we mortals do. But as long as we are willing to rise up again and continue on the path toward the spiritual goals God has given us, we can learn something from failure and become better and happier as a result.

We can learn something from failure – Yay!! and become better and happier as a result!! This sentence means so much to me!! The adversary/my disease (whatever you want to call the negative voice in my head) wants to tell me that “I am never going to get better” that I “can’t do any better than this” that I “will always keep making these same mistakes”. You name it, if it’s negative, it goes through my head some days.  Knowing that President Utchdorf has had some of these same feelings is so great for me! It gives me loads of hope today!

Today I am grateful that Heavenly Father cares for each one of us enough to give us these inspired words that help us identify with these men, and help us grow in what ever place we are in our journey!

Hope you see your Blessings today!!  (((HUGS)))

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting back up

  1. Dyanne Everett-Cantrell says:

    Thank you for sharing! A wonderful message.

Leave a Reply

