Learning from my trials

I have learned that until I learn a lesson, God keeps sending me that same types of trials!. Right now most of my lessons have to do with patience, obedience, faith and trust. Plus learning new stuff like how to fast, keeping the Sabbath day holy, etc. And of course, there are always other things that life throws into the mix. 

Heavenly Father, at this time in my life, is working on (long term): obedience to His commandments; patience in all things and consistent faith & trust in Him.

I believe that we are on this planet to learn. President Thomas S. Monson believes the same thing:

None of us makes it through this life without problems and challenges—and sometimes tragedies and misfortunes. After all, in large part we are here to learn and grow from such events in our lives. We know that there are times when we will suffer, when we will grieve, and when we will be saddened. However, we are told, “Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy.”  Be Of Good Cheer April 2009.  

“Brothers and sisters, it may be safely assumed that no person has ever lived entirely free of suffering and sorrow, nor has there ever been a period in human history that did not have its full share of turmoil and misery….Whenever we are inclined to feel burdened down with the blows of life, let us remember that others have passed the same way, have endured, and then have overcome….This should be our purpose—to persevere and endure, yes, but also to become more spiritually refined as we make our way through sunshine and sorrow. Were it not for challenges to overcome and problems to solve, we would remain much as we are, with little or no progress toward our goal of eternal life.  “I Will Not Fail Thee, nor Forsake Thee” Oct 2013

So, today I’m happy to be working on the things that God wants me to be working on right now. I have heard it said that if me and my friends all put our problems into a pile and got to choose problems, we would choose our own. I agree with that today. I am at a place with my fibromyalgia that I know what I should and shouldn’t do to manage my pain, I pretty much know how to manage my anxiety, I’m at a healthy place in my marriage, I am comfortably consistent with practicing the basics of my recovery. It is really cool to be able to say that I feel like I am in “God’s will” and that I am very happy being there!!

There have been times in my life (before Sept. of 2006) when I was very unhappy with my life, that is not the case today! The things that I have been doing consistently for the past 7 years: regular daily prayers, meeting attendance, work steps, reading recovery literature, keeping my relationship with God the most important one I have, reading scriptures and service to others, have gotten me to this wonderful place in my life. I am willing to continue to do what I believe God wants me to do to stay in His will.

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

