Patience in all things

Patience…this is what God has been working with me on recently. The Spirit has been patiently reminding me, very consistently, “patience in all things”.

So, expectedly, all of my recent trials have included being patient. Also, humility has been there a lot. For me, patience and humility work together a lot.

The definition of patient: able to remain calm and not become annoyed when waiting for a long time or when dealing with problems or difficult people, helps me. When I look at the definition and see that it not only means waiting, but waiting calmly and not becoming annoyed, it reminds me of the goal: remaining calm and not becoming annoyed (with circumstances or people) during my daily life.

So for me practicing humility:  the quality or state of not thinking you are better than other people : the quality or state of being humble, helps greatly with being patient. For me, as I practice humility I am more likely to practice patience.

1 Timothy 6:11 says to follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, and meekness. There is also this definition for meekness: enduring injury with patience and without resentment.

To me it looks like patience, humility and meekness are all easier when practiced together. At least for me it works.

In his talk Patience, Elder Neal A. Maxwell said “The patient person assumes that what others have to say is worth listening to. A patient person is not so chronically eager to put forth his own ideas. In true humility, we do some waiting upon others. We value them for what they say and what they have to contribute. Patience and humility are special friends.” I love that!!

Talking of patience and humility always remind me of the 13th Article of FaithWe believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things. Even though those exact words are not part of it, I always seem to think of them as being “praiseworthy” and that we should “seek after them”

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patience in all things

  1. Tammy says:

    Boy He works on teaching me that too!!!❤ ya!!

Leave a Reply

