Have I Done Any Good

There is a really good song we sang in church a couple of weeks ago, “Have I Done Any Good” (Text & music by Will L.Thompson 1847-1909). The words made me think. Here they are:

“Have I done any good in the world today? Have I helped anyone in need? Have I cheered up the sad and made someone feel glad? If not, I have failed indeed. Has anyone’s burden been lighter today, Because I was willing to share? Have the sick and the weary been helped on their way? When they needed my help was I there?

(Chorus)  Then wake up and do something more than dream of your mansion above. Doing good is a pleasure, a joy beyond measure, A blessing of duty and love.

There are chances for work all around just now, Opportunities right in our way. Do not let them pass by, saying, “Sometime I’ll try,” But go and do something today. ‘Tis noble of man to work and to give; Love’s labor has merit alone. Only he who does something helps others to live. To God each good work will be known.”

This is another one of those things that I need to print out and put on my wall somewhere so that I can remember to practice this on a daily basis!!

I truly have found out for myself that “doing good is a pleasure, a joy beyond measure”. One of the principles I have learned in the 12 step program I love is “service”. Service does many things: it gets me out of my own head (which is a really big deal for a person like me); it helps me see from a different perspective (which is something I always need) and it is one of the things that Heavenly Father wants me to do.

Being a selfish and self-centered human being, it takes work for me to practice not being selfish and self-centered, and for me, one of the best ways to do that is to help someone else! It can be as easy as answering the phone when someone calls and listening to their troubles, or as difficult as holding someone as they grieve over loss, but it is always worth what ever effort I make!!

Today I am going to practice “doing good” and tonight when I review my day, I will ask myself “have I done any good”. I truly hope that I will be able to answer “yes”.

Hope all of you have a wonderful Wednesday!!! (((HUGS)))

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
Aside | This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

