God’s Grace

Not long ago I read a wonderful talk on “Grace” by Brad Wilcox – “His Grace Is Sufficient” (all quotes except otherwise stated are from that talk)

In this talk he is explaining, in terms that I could understand, the concept of God’s Grace. It really helped me understand the Jesus, my Savior, did it all!! He paid the complete price of Grace! Yes, I am required to do things as I take His name, but not to be “Saved”, to change. Jesus already did everything to “save” me!!

Here are a few quotes from the talk where he explains:

“The truth is, Jesus paid our debt in full. He didn’t pay it all except for a few coins. He paid it all. It is finished.”

She said, “Right! Like I don’t have to do anything?”

“Oh, no,” I said, “you have plenty to do, but it is not to pay that debt. We will all be resurrected. We will all go back to God’s presence to be judged. What is left to be determined by our obedience is how comfortable we plan to be in God’s presence and what degree of glory we plan on receiving.”

What an awesome concept, because my best alone never is good enough! But that is the point, I’m just suppose to grow and change and do the best I can. Not to “achieve” some certain “level” that “get’s me there”. But to change and grow in to more of the person that Heavenly Father wants me to be.

Grace transforms us:

“Christ asks us to show faith in Him, repent, make and keep covenants, receive the Holy Ghost, and endure to the end.  By complying, we are not paying the demands of justice— not even the smallest part. Instead, we are showing appreciation for what Jesus Christ did by using it to live a life like His. Justice requires immediate perfection or a punishment when we fall short. Because Jesus took that punishment, He can offer us the chance for ultimate perfection (see Matthew 5:483 Nephi 12:48) and help us reach that goal. He can forgive what justice never could, and He can turn to us now with His own set of requirements (see. 3 Nephi 28:35)

Elder Dallin H. Oaks of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles has said, “The repenting sinner must suffer for his sins, but this suffering has a different purpose than punishment or payment. Its purpose is change” (The Lord’s Way [1991], 223; emphasis in original). “

“The miracle of the Atonement is not just that we can live after we die but that we can live more abundantly (see John 10:10). The miracle of the Atonement is not just that we can be cleansed and consoled but that we can be transformed (see Romans 8). Scriptures make it clear that no unclean thing can dwell with God (see Alma 40:26), but no unchanged thing will even want to.”

Grace helps us:

“There should never be just two options: perfection or giving up. When learning the piano, are the only options performing at Carnegie Hall or quitting? No. Growth and development take time. Learning takes time. When we understand grace, we understand that God is long-suffering, that change is a process, and that repentance is a pattern in our lives. When we understand grace, we understand that the blessings of Christ’s Atonement are continuous and His strength is perfect in our weakness (see 2 Corinthians 12:9). When we understand grace, we can, as it says in the Doctrine and Covenants, “continue in patience until [we] are perfected” (D&C 67:13).”

Grace is sufficient:

“God’s grace is sufficient. Jesus’s grace is sufficient. It is enough. It is all we need. Don’t quit. Keep trying. Don’t look for escapes and excuses. Look for the Lord and His perfect strength. Don’t search for someone.  Search for someone to help you. Seek Christ, and, as you do, you will feel the enabling power and divine help we call His amazing grace.”

I am quoting the talk so much because I do not know a better way to say it than he did.If this blog has intrigued you or touched you in any way, please go read the whole talk. It is inspiring!! It helped me understand so many things clearly that I had not understood before. The link to the talk is at the beginning of this blog.

I hope you all have a Magnificent Monday! I hope that you accept God’s Grace today! And Smile!! Enjoy the Journey!!

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God’s Grace

  1. Pingback: Seeking God’s Power and Grace When You are Weak | Inspirational Matters

  2. Pingback: Blessing from God’s house | daily meditation

  3. Pingback: The work given to you | daily meditation

  4. Pingback: Invisible yet Tangible Grace and Peace | Revelations of the Invisible

  5. Pingback: Jesus Paid It All? | paulfpavao

  6. Pingback: The stewardship of God’s grace | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

