Life’s lessons

“Our Heavenly Father … knows that we learn and grow and become stronger as we face and survive the trials through which we must pass.” Thomas S. MonsonI Will Not Fail Thee, nor Forsake Thee” Oct 2013 

This statement gives me huge amounts of Hope!

I have always thought/known/believed that this life is like a school. Now, I forgot that fact for a long time during my “craziness” as I like to call it, but I did know it before that. I have believed that as long as I can remember.

Knowing and accepting that I “learn and grow and become stronger” as I face and get through the trials that I go through in this life really does make it easier. Now, when I don’t have this in the front of my brain, it doesn’t help in the present tense, but if and when I keep this information in my conscious brain, it helps tremendously when I am going through something that I feel is difficult.

Also, knowing and accepting this fact makes it easier to let go of the guilt and shame of all the crappy stuff I did during my “craziness”. Because I have learned huge lessons from those actions! 

Example: In the late 90’s I was very active in my church. I did everything that I knew how to do. I went to church every week. I read the scriptures regularly, I prayed every night, I held family home evening; I was doing everything I knew how to do at the time, but I did not have the relationship with God that I do today. I had to go through all of the yuckiness of 1999 through 2006, then all the recovery from Sept 2006 to when I went back to church in March; and through what I have gone through from March until now to have the wonderful Faith & Trust and the outstanding relationship that I have with Heavenly Father today!!

I have been through so much, and learned so much in my life & I am tickled pink to live this life today!!! Today I have a wonderful life, know that I have a wonderful life, and am very happy living this life!

Most days I have this awesome feeling that I am “living in God’s Will” and I am very happy being there. In 1999, I thought that happiness was possible, but truly had no idea of the serenity, happiness, contentment, and joy that I get to live daily today!!

(((HUGS)))

 

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life’s lessons

  1. Tammy says:

    Awesome!!! & congrats!!!! doing everything that “we think is right” is not the same as having a personal relationship one on one with God!!! Takes most of us many tries and many times to get it right….One day at a time sweet Jesus!!!! yeah PattyKakes!!!

Leave a Reply

