Charity

The dictionary definition of charity is: the act of giving money, food, or other kinds of help to people who are poor, sick, etc.; also : something (such as money or food) that is given to people who are poor, sick, etc. But I grew up being taught that charity was “the pure love of Christ”

There have been many times in my life when the things I did had nothing to do with showing “charity” in any way, shape or form. But in recent years I have wanted to do better.

Yesterday I heard a wonderful quote from the President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. It is from a talk he gave in Oct of 2010. The article is in the Nov. 2010 Ensign. The name of the talk was “Charity Never Faileth”

“Charity is having patience with someone who has let us down. It is resisting the impulse to become offended easily. It is accepting weaknesses and shortcomings. It is accepting people as they truly are. It is looking beyond physical appearances to attributes that will not dim through time. It is resisting the impulse to categorize others.”

This quote truly touched my heart so I went in search of the article. The entire talk was beautiful. You can read it at https://www.lds.org/ensign/2010/11/charity-never-faileth?lang=eng if you would like.

I have been trying to practice unconditional love, forgiveness, tolerance, and acceptance for myself and others for a few years now and I believe that is helping me become a better person. Closer to showing the above definition of charity to those that I come into contact with.

I pray that today I can do my best to show others that I come in contact with the “charity” that my Savior, Jesus Christ has shown to me!

President Monson also said:

Life is perfect for none of us. Rather than being judgmental and critical of each other, may we have the pure love of Christ for our fellow travelers in this journey through life. May we recognize that each one is doing her best to deal with the challenges which come her way, and may we strive to do our best to help out.

Today this will be my goal!!

I hope that all of you have a great Monday!!! (((HUGS)))

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Charity

  1. tammy says:

    awesome post Patty.. we should all strive to show this Charity.. which the Bible refesrs to as love… faith, hope & charity.. but the greatest of theses is Charity (love) 1 Cor. 13 v 13 My fav chapter in the Bible.. well done!!!

Leave a Reply

