The “voice in my head”

As long as I can remember, there has been a “voice” telling me that I am not good enough. I remember it as early as the 4th grade.

My dad did not tell me that he liked my sister more because she was the “pretty” one and I was the “smart” one, that was the voice in my head.  My hubby did not tell me that he wouldn’t love me if I didn’t do everything he wanted me to, that was the voice in my head. No one except the voice in my head ever told me that I wasn’t good enough. But I always believed that voice.

It wasn’t until after I started going to 12 step meetings that I finally found out that that “voice” is lying to me. It hates me and will do or say anything to try to make me miserable.

About 8 months ago, I wanted to start going back to the church that I was raised in, but the “voice” told me that everyone there would smell the cigarette smoke on me and judge me. After 2 or 3 months more of prayer I was able to listen to God, who was telling me to go back to church.

I still have to work diligently to remember that the voice hates me, lies to me and will say anything to make me miserable, but Today I am blessed to have the tools to know that!

If this was the only thing that I had learned in the last 7 years, it would be enough, but it is only one of many things that I have learned, but I will post about those at different times.

About pattypooh67

Hi, I'm Patty. I'm a mother, grand mother, wife, recovering addict, and member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint. I love my Savior, my husband, my kids, my grand kids, my Church, NA, the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, and my life.
This entry was posted in Today's Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

